EN CZ Archive Sign in Tickets online


The Jiri Theiner Award is named after the long-time editor-in-chief of Index on Censorship and  is awarded by Svět knihy, s.r.o., a company of the Association of Czech Booksellers and Publishers. It was originally intended for a living personality or an active institution operating abroad, which, through its achievements or long-term efforts, significantly contributes to the spread and promotion of Czech literature outside the Czech Republic.

In 2022, her focus changed to an award for fighting for freedom of speech. The prize is associated with a financial bonus of 1,000 USD. The first Jiri Theiner Award was conferred in 2011 on the Polish bohemist, translator and journalist Andrzej Jagodzinski. The 2023 award was conferred on the in-exile Persian publishing house Naakojaa represented by its director Tinoush Nazmjou.

The winner of the 2024 Jiri Theiner Award will be announced and the prize will be conferred on Thursday, 23rd May at the official opening of the Book World Prague international book fair and literary festival.

Nominations may be made by representatives of the professional public (e.g., publishers, librarians, university staff, institutions or media). Each nomination must include the full name of the nominated individual or organization, plus an address at which the nominee may be contacted and reasons why the nominee is deserving of recognition. Nominations made last year may be repeated. 

The winner will be chosen by a five-member committee appointed by Svět knihy, s.r.o. Pavel Theiner, son of Jiri (George) Theiner. 

The closing date for nominations is 23rd February 2024. 

Radovan Auer

Managing Director

Svět knihy, s.r.o.